Day 7

Winnie and the New Neighbor

Winnie and I were lucky enough to be able to squeak out of the house this evening for a walk.  The weather finally improved and the snow and ice was finally in a condition where Winnie’s paws and legs didn’t get sore from managing the elements. Winnie enjoyed a brief petting and surprise treat from a neighborhood friend, and it was overall a great feeling being outside with my furry girl. Then we came across a new neighbor…

 The woman approached us, and Winnie and I both assumed we were about to make a new friend. Unfortunately we were wrong. The woman, instead, announced that I should not be walking a pit bull in a neighborhood with children. Winnie and I looked behind us thinking she must be talking to someone else, but she was, indeed, addressing her annoyance at us. Caught completely off guard, I explained to the woman that Winnie was a lovable mutt and her only problem was that she is too friendly with strangers, and I actually wished she’d be more protective of me and my family. As we walked off, I thought of a million more things I wish I would have said to the woman, but I realized maybe she has her own fears and issues with animals. I hope that by showing her that we are responsible dog owners and nice people we can change her first impression of Winnie.

2 thoughts on “Day 7

  1. Awww.. Pit bull discrimination. 😦 Some people may never change, but it is responsible, and caring dog owners like you that help educate the fearful haters on what loving, sweet animals Pit bulls are. Such a shame. Kudos to you for keeping it PC and polite. You did you good thing. The audacity of some people… Grr.

  2. The first paragraph set the stage perfectly…it made me wish I took my dog for a walk. I appreciate the line, As we walked off, I thought of a million more things I wish I would have said to the woman, but I realized maybe she has her own fears and issues with animals. What a reflection of a single comment. If we all were a bit more understanding of others, what would this world look like? Unfortunately the initial exchange didn’t make you feel good, but you should feel wonderful knowing you were kind to someone who holds a bag of issues of which you are unaware. Great slice with such a loud message (to me anyway). 🙂

Leave a Reply

