Day 2

baby winnie 2

baby winnie

Winnie and the Glamour Shot

We chose Winnie because of her glamour shot my husband found while searching the Internet. She was a teeny little puppy sitting on top of a photographer’s backdrop, cocking her head to the side, saying “Pick me!” She didn’t quite sit right in the picture and instead of sitting like how you would expect a dog to sit she tucked her hind legs side saddle like a little lady. Without giving much thought, we filled out an application for adoption and the next day we had our furry daughter.

 Had I examined the website closer, and not been taken over by the cuteness in her pictures, I probably would have put more thought into adopting her.  She was described as being four different breeds (Boxer-Lab, Bull Dog -Lab, Pit Bull-Pointer) either on purpose or by mistake. There was a warning in her bio stating she would most likely be seventy-plus pound and the rescue organization labeled her and her brothers “Clearance, Must Go!” I didn’t know a rescued animal could be put on clearance, but our Winnie was.

Now, four years later, Winnie is considered a member of the family. She completely changed our household and, most days, I’d say for the better. Winnie definitely shows how powerful a picture can be.

6 thoughts on “Day 2

  1. Oh my goodness! I love her. I would have done the exact same thing. Put on clearance made me smile but breaks my heart a smidge that someone thought that cute little face was clearance worthy. Lucky for you though. It’s meant to be. 🙂
    P.S. Yay for day 2!

  2. Linsdey, I love, love, love this!! I laughed out loud at the “clearance,must go” part. And you ending about the power of a picture is perfect. Winnie is perfect, I can see why you picked her. Can’t wait to hear more about her this March.

  3. Lindsey, I will be reading your posts daily, because I see that you feel about your dog like I did about Katie a long time ago. I just never thought to put it all down in words, to keep forever. I wish I did. I love that she was “on clearance.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

